Home > Observations, Software > Stop looking at the blog and start looking at the blogger – Part I

Stop looking at the blog and start looking at the blogger – Part I

This is one out of a series of posts where I will show that it is more interesting to follow the bloggers online and offline activities then his blog and discuss what does it mean for their readers/followers, web 2.0 services providers, the marketing world and maybe more stakeholders that I can’t see at this point.

I love to monitor stuff, looking for patterns such as trends, in-activity, abrupt activity and more. Actually, this is what that I’m doing at work building software that does it on a large scale. When I look at someone’s profile I don’t see a static snapshot of a person (or any other entity) but an evolving, constant changing, and transient state of being. The snapshot paradigm gives the false notion of “I know everything about this individual from now till eternity” while a profile defined by someone’s activity lead to the conclusion that “I now know something about this person and there is an expiration date on this information”.

My first impression from bloggers was based on three types of blog’s usage. The first was the good old journalist moving to the digital world. The second was the person finding a place for blabbing about all sorts of personal stuff. The third was the corporate blogger trying to fulfill a new marketing task.

Lately I discover a new type of a blogger: I will call him the Web 2.0 type of a blogger.

This new blogger success is driven by his activity both offline and online. Offline activity means networking, creating groups and organizations, speaking in conferences, and more. This activity is mostly echoed (and documented) online.

Online is the rest, blogging, podcasting, answering comments, writing comments on other blogs, twittering about it, using services such as Digg, Technoarti, making friends and connections anywhere possible: LinkeIN, Facebook, Ning,, Flicker and the options are just growing).  To be a serious blogger it means to live, eat and breathe the social digital world. All this activity is recorded – it is the expended fulfillment of the meaning of the blog term i.e. a web log.

In my world to be able to trace activity in a meaningful way I need to find a stream of event-rich data and or data from multiple data sources. As I described in the previous paragraph a web 2.0 type of a blogger touches multiple services and since we are all very numbers addict it is not so hard to collect this kind of “transactional” data. Most “social” services enthusiastically provide statistics about profile’s rank, popularity, number of friends and business connections.

At this point the existing bloggers supporting services are looking only at the blog, its content and references (links, diggs, and bookmarks) but I think that it is far more interesting to look at blogger. 

I will take as an example a person that I never met but it was hard not to bump into while using almost any one of the services mentioned above. I won’t mention his real name. I will refer to him as BloggerJoe.

So let’s take BloggerJoe and see what he is doing (or not!).

Online:

  • Twitter follower – 3,223
  • Digg (popular ratio) – 13%
  • del.icio.us – 91 times his blog was saved by other people 
  • Technorati:
    • Authority: 1193
    • Rank: 1964     
  •  Networks:
    • LinkedIn – 500+ connections

    • Facebook – 1652 friends (not much going on in LinkedIn ha?).

    • Ning – not present

    • Flicker  – 377 contact

    • Plaxo – not found

Offline (I won’t be too specific in here):

  • Initiated and run a certain group – organizing multiple events a year
  • Occasionally speaks in all sort of events

In my next post I will describe what can we learn monitoring changes in this data shaping a web 2.0 blogger dynamic profile?

   

Categories: Observations, Software

Leave a Reply

