Home > Method, Observations, Software > Stop looking at the blog and start looking at the blogger – Part III – Imagination

Stop looking at the blog and start looking at the blogger – Part III – Imagination

Imagination is more important than knowledge. For knowledge is limited to all we now know and understand, while imagination embraces the entire world, and all there ever will be to know and understand.” Albert Einstein

                                                Albert Einstein

What if Mr. Einstein was a blogger? Can you imagine that? Was his blog buried somewhere under math and science in digg?

In my first post I mentioned few types of bloggers and the Web 2.0 blogger in particular. Two post from then as I look closer I see that it is actually divided further to additional subtypes and I already mentioned the Leader. In this post I plan to focus on the imaginative blogger.

My plan is to post one more piece about inspiration to demonstrate an additional subtype. I will be happy to get examples of inspiring bloggers if you have any (I have two already). Then I plan to take a stub at patterns discovery that correlates with each one of the mentioned types (… oh boy!) . The end game is defining a model that may be useful finding leads for upcoming great bloggers, as I said it previously, by looking beyond their blog. And maybe a final post about the value of this information.

So, now to imagination. I will start with my understanding of imagination. I love time travel stories (I’m not sure that these are really the best but a good enough list). I love them because of the endless possibilities that opens up by removing just one single constraint such as the continuity of time. It really gets my imagination going (if I only bought APPL in 2003 knowing what I know today).

Living well with a constrain like in the 140story featured  (by @Joshua Rothhaas) in Twitter shows good imagination as well.

In other cases imagination has to do with unique observations; seeing things or the lack of (and naming them) that other don’t notice like Seth Godin who was desperately looking for a single Purple Cow in the meadow.

It is also not easy to come up with original content all the time like Merlin Mann in his 43folders web sites and blogs (see 5ives). These are mostly not posts about news or their interpretations.

I’m sure that there are many more forms of imagination exercised by an imaginative blogger online and offline.

Does your stream of thoughts in Twitter and the unique way using it shows imagination? Does the way you tag indicate a different mind set? Is a high likeness score in Facebook is a good or bad thing?

Please let me discover what I don’t know that I don’t know yet.

Categories: Method, Observations, Software
  1. No comments yet.
  1. January 19, 2008 at 2:16 am

Leave a Reply

