Home > Method, Monitoring, Observations, Software > Blog rank monitoring – update

Blog rank monitoring – update

I got great feedback about this project and I’m doing a lot of thinking how to proceed with it.

I got very encouraging comments from two members of the Technorati team: David Sifry the founder and  CEO and Ian Kallen the leader of the Core Services engineering group .

I’m now working on getting more steps automated so I can monitor more blogs. It takes time.

I plan to focus mainly on monitoring activity within category and subcategories. I would like to point out great bloggers in the context of their domain of interest and their relationship with other great bloggers from the same field.

Still thinking about the way to report it. Till I start monitoring more blogs I’m not sure how interesting this report is anyway.

I’m also thinking about tiers and how to name them, maybe: unknown, upcoming, established and leaders.

For now I can at least show some great and promising bloggers from the list that I started with after monitoring for only couple of weeks:

Improved rank in both weeks and more than 10% in the last week:

Adventures in social software/media, sustainability, and life

Doug Haslam

Improved rank in both weeks

CubeMe

Design*Sponge

Niche Marketing – Andy Beard

The Business and Politics of New Media (And the Podcast)

Dossy’s Blog

Wikinomics

A design and usability blog: Signal vs. Noise (by 37signals)

MegFowler.com

Micah Baldwin on Succeeding Through Failing: Startups and Entrepreneurship

paidContent.org

Social Honeycomb

Social Media Explorer

Occam’s Razor by Avinash Kaushik

More than 20% improve only in the last week

Techcrunch

Mahalo Daily

mediaphyter

So, at this point I think that I’ll stop reporting about blogs’ progress and focus on the next step whatever it is.

Btw, I’m aware of the possibility that I’m helping some of this rank changes just by writing this post but over time I believe that the impact should be negligible.

I would love to hear your thoughts.

  1. Meg
    February 24, 2008 at 9:47 am

    Hi Keren! No idea how I ended up on your radar… am I the only personal blog in there? Going to read more about what you’re up to. I wonder how my lack of topical focus affects rank movement and links.

    I know at one point I was in the 20,000 range on Technorati, and then dropped like a rock and lost a bunch of links in their system. Now on the mend. 🙂

  2. Keren Dagan
    February 26, 2008 at 1:35 am

    Hi Meg,
    I can’t say why but some blogs standout and this is why I found your blog.
    I used Personal, but Fun and Inspiring are also categories that can be associated with your blog.
    Technorati rank refresh every once in a while – I noticed that too:(
    Thanks for your comments,
    Keren

  3. February 29, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    Hi Keren,

    While the fact our wikinomics blog is on your list is what first caught my eye, I really like the core concept behind your project. I hope you keep it up and we’ll be very interested to see the results!

  4. Keren Dagan
    March 1, 2008 at 6:33 am

    Hi Denis,
    Thank you. I would like to see it through too:) wikinomics is a great source of information showing the true value of collaboration and empowerment.
    Keren

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

