Home > Method, Observations, Software > MeeID or SpID?

MeeID or SpID?

I was looking at MeeID today, a very cool and simple application that let you aggregate multiple online presence into one single hip profile page.

Here is mine:

KerenDaganMeeID

I think that people will appreciate this service because it is as simple as Twitter, in only few minutes you can setup a page that points to multiple profile pages, your blog, twitter account, email and more.

I found it after reading this article on ReadWriteWeb.

I tried the Random option and found few great MeeIDs. How clear is one’s profile presented this way? Just a few line and you can see what this person is active in, and where. I found some great new Twitter accounts to follow using this cool service. The Twitter Bio page is so dry!! Maybe Twitter or Twhirl should think about integration with MeeID (or build a similar solution).

I can also see more use for this service, maybe to explain a product, a place, a term in just few line and links. Maybe to explain some of the opaque #hashtags on Twitter Search Trending topics. Like Twitter the options are limitless.

This could also help solving some of the problems that I wrote about in Piecing Web Presence.

But…

When I tried the search option typing the word John (common name and I just wanted to find someone) this is what that came up.

False John McCain MeeID

JohnMcCainMeeID

So it is too easy to trash someone’s ID using MeeID. I guess that having the email verification round trip during the subscription and account activation process is essential (or using OpenID).

I hope that the team at MeeID will fix this soon before they’ll end up with a large cleanup task removing spam IDs hence SpID (SpID, like spam and splogs).

I highly recommend using it and I cant wait to see new creative ways for using MeeID profile pages. API?

  1. September 7, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    Hey Keren,

    Interesting post – I am curious as to where the MeeID idea will go next (gotta love that False John McCain MeeID, haha!).

    I wrote a small blog about the app and had a response from Lucas Taylor, one of the guys behind MeeID – seems that version 2.0 is already in the works with a few new additions:

    http://pricelesswriterdannybrown.com/2008/09/05/meeid-offers-a-short-sweet-online-id/

    API would definitely be cool! 🙂

  1. October 10, 2008 at 7:06 am

Leave a Reply

