Home > Method, Monitoring, Observations > Participating in election day 2008 – the social media style

Participating in election day 2008 – the social media style

As I wrote in my previous post about the role of social media delivering dramatic news events, this time around we have a real opportunity to experience the election day on an entire different level. We can converse on many social media platforms, we can listen to others talking about this election. We can get alerts, links, comments that will prompt us to react in real-time to news about this exciting day.

This is how I’m going to “watch” the election day:

Election08 

Others:

I will probably open the TV occasionally or read some news on a traditional news web-site. I may even read an article or two from the newspaper. Yet, I mostly plan to experience this event as socially as possible on the new media. I’m looking forward for your conversations.

The hard part – I need to wait few more years before I can vote. I’m only a permanent resident.

Happy election day and I wish America to come up with new president that will lead us through the challenges ahead.

  1. November 4, 2008 at 12:42 am

    While I’m not an American, tomorrow’s vote affects us all. It’s probably the only country in the world where all eyes will be watching – there are two very different futures awaiting us after tomorrow unfolds.

  2. November 4, 2008 at 3:38 am

    This is first major democratic event where social media has played a part not just in how we view and participate in the process but where the fact that it has been embraced as a way of engaging with voters will be shown to have played a real part in the outcome.

  1. November 5, 2008 at 5:35 pm

Leave a Reply

