Home > Monitoring > 3 things to check before you retweet!

3 things to check before you retweet!

Quickly after I started using real-time conversational search engines it becomes apparent that the crowd sourcing is sometime more like a herd sourcing. People retweet (re-share items on Twitter) blindly and carelessly. Here are the three things to consider before you retweet.

The short retweet checklist:

retweet

  1. How close you are to the news origin? Search the tweet or link using Twitter Search, MicroPlazza or any other microblogging search engine to see how many times it was retweeted before yours. In the case from the picture above it was “only” 972 times. If the link was shorten by bit.ly you can also see link’s statistics such as the time line and clicks count. Between these three tools you can tell how old this “news” is.
  2. Check if it is not a hoax – some people takes advantage of the fact that so many other people are eager to be among the first one to break the news. This one is tricky and everyone cal fall for it but I follow my father’s advice – “if there is a doubt there is not doubt”. Some news really sounds fishy:) I also noticed that people were still retweeting the false story even way after others were retweeting that it was a hoax.
  3. Will it waste people’s time – this is something that I’m struggling with lately.  As the number of people that follow me on Twitter grows, I feel more and more responsible for not wasting their time. I find myself checking and rechecking if the link, tweet or retweet delivers any value. I’m asking myself if I learned anything from the blog’s post or article that I just read or if the twitter fellow I’m about to recommend to others is really that good.

It is OK to retweet, it is the bridge between twitter’s remote social branches for passing content through. I only suggest to run this short retweet checklist prior. It will help you to become a better social media broadcaster and appreciated by your followers.

Do you have more items to add to this retweet checklist?

I wonder if I’ll ever see any retweet of my content after this post:)

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
  1. lifeafterjournalism
    March 21, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    I would add:

    #1 If the person has 55K followers and you have 121, probably safe bet they’ve seen it. Don’t bother.

    #2 If you do retweet, give credit. Nothing looks more phony than an immediate resend without acknowledgment when the receiver knows you both follow the same person.

    I only break Rule 1 if the tweet demands to be recast in #Haiku #Twaiku format. But at least I am adding something original, if not even more annoying. 🙂

  1. March 29, 2009 at 6:03 am
  2. January 25, 2010 at 5:44 am

Leave a Reply

