Home > Method, Monitoring, Observations, social > How do you take your blog?

How do you take your blog?

The most significant change to my reading habits since I started reading blogs is that I started reading a lot more blogs. What that I lately realized is that there are growing number of different options for getting blog posts streamed to my browser.

Email subscription

  • Pros: Since I check my email regularly I know that I will not miss it.
  • Cons: I will probably get the post few hours later and if there is something “hot” to share it might get cold by the time that I will see it.
  • Use: This subscription option is only reserved for few blogs that I know will provide information that has value (above and) beyond the day of publication.

Reader subscription (RSS)

  • Pros: Fast to receive and fast to read. Especially, if you are using GoogleReader and invest the time to learn some of its cool shortcuts.
  • feedly
  • Cons: You have to know what to look for. It takes time to build and organize reach blogs list. There is only a little room for serendipity.
  • Use: It is a great way to keep half open eye on lots of blogs. It is also possible to see it like a magazine start page via feedly.

Tag based real-time subscription

  • What is Tag based Real-Time subscription? Using new technology and real-time protocols like RSSCloud and PubSubHubBub, blog service like wordpress, can notify us about new blog posts as soon as they are published.  Let’s leave the buzz word for a minute because in my mind this is only half of the big news.  The second half of the change is that it is tag based.  If you don’t know what tag and tagging is please read Wikipedia explanation here.  Let’s go for a use case to explain the value of this new capability.  Let’s say that I like to read about Social Media. The way that I did it in that past was to Google “Social Media”, or to set a Google Alert looking for web pages with the “Social Media” keyword.  I could also check the Wordpres tags page searching for the Social Media tag.  These option are all either slow or tedious.
    The new real-time RSS protocols are tag based. In human language it means that it is possible to retrieve new blog post by tags.With the adoption of these new real-time protocols and the fact that they are tag based, it is possible to get new blog posts while they are still “hot and fresh” into your browser. Service like LazyFeed let you list several tags to listen to.  You can read more here. Now,  back to our use case. I can add the socialmedia tag (no space is allowed) to my tag list and start reading new fresh blog posts about this subject.lazyfeed
  • Pros: I don’t have to know the blog name, url, or feed url like in the Reader subscription case. I can just listen to certain tag(s). I get new blog posts as soon as they are published. I get a chance to lean about new blogs and blogger that I can later promote to one of the other subscription way. Tags are not hierarchical but they are associated somehow (some times hierarchically) so I can drill down to switch listening using related tags.
  • Cons: Not all blog services adopted this protocols yet. Some time it is just too fast. I would like to see more invested in the usability and scalability on the client side. It would be nice to be able to combine both the Reader and Tag Based Real-time subscription in a single tool.
  • Use: It is a great way to learn about new blogs and bloggers. It is a great way to find new content for sharing on Twitter.

These are only few of the ways to find and read blogs. There are many more, like using Twitter, Twitter tools (like twitturly), Facebook feed, delicious and other social sharing web-sites.

Just remember that blogs reading leads to more blog reading:)

So, how do you take your blog?

  1. December 29, 2012 at 2:23 am

    Hi, everything is going nicely here and ofcourse every one is sharing data, that’s in fact good, keep up writing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

