Home > Observations, social > Cognitive Dissonance post: Does social media made it hard to share?

Cognitive Dissonance post: Does social media made it hard to share?

image Mashable, Techcrunch, Gizmodo and Huffington Post posts are re-tweeted over and over again. Brian Sollis, Seth Godin and a couple more bloggers’ posts are all over Twitter and other social media channels. Even traditional news and media publishers now have vast social media presence.  I can only praise the great quality of these bloggers, thinkers, thoughts leaders, reporters and analytical brains. I have one small observation: lately, social media and twitter in particular, are making it actually hard for me to share yours!

Few observation:

  • It is hard for me to share links from the sources mentioned above. When I see it, the link is already shared so many times, and across so many social media outlets, that there is no point for me to share it again. It seems as if these blog posts are everywhere almost as soon as they come out.
  • It is getting hard to find the second and third tier of bloggers. Maybe here lies the new potential for services like blog and twitter search engines. Give me the option to exclude the top 10, 100, 1000 most known/shared blogs.
  • This is why I don’t like Digg but I do like StumbleUpon!
  • I like to get to know some bloggers from the new long tail – the bloggers from the old one seems to move up to the bell area and joined the mass media.

The irony is that sharing is one of the Social Media corner stones.

Cognitive dissonance (from Wikipedia) – is a psychological term describing the uncomfortable tension that may result from having two conflicting thoughts at the same time, or from engaging in behavior that conflicts with one’s beliefs, or from experiencing apparently conflicting phenomena.

Do you share more or less lately? How do you find more interesting bloggers?

picture credit oddsock

  1. October 23, 2009 at 9:45 am

    Keren,
    Exactly! I still share news from Mashable or some of the “big” bloggers’ posts whose names are mentioned above, but when I see that the post has been shared 500+ times, I wonder if it’s worthwhile at all. Social media is about sharing, but also about relationships. I try to cultivate the relationships with any blogger whose posts offer value, but it’s daunting to do so with a blogger that has 72 comments on each post. I also use Twitter the same way – I try to follow those twitter users that I can cultivate a relationship with and learn from the conversation. Someone with 16,000 followers is less likely to engage with me, and I find myself also wondering if it’s possible to cultivate a weak tie with someone who already has 24,000.

    Good start of a conversation here!

  2. October 23, 2009 at 10:03 am

    Hi Debra,

    Thanks for stopping by. It is always great to hear from you.
    Actually, you raised a very important point here: the bloggers that I mentioned above, the ones who moved up/out of the long tail seems almost as unreachable as other tradition/mass media workers/channels.
    The same social media tools like sharing, commenting, network that overtime grew to such extent, that made them so popular, also made them remote. I see some irony here, you?

    Keren

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

