Home > Method, Monitoring, Software > BlogMon – The only way is up!

BlogMon – The only way is up!

What is BlogMon?

You can find here results from a small application I wrote for monitoring Technorati rank changes over time. I find these blogs and bloggers in two ways:

  • The first is the same way as you add links to your favorites when you like the content. I browse, I like it, I add it to the list of blogs to scan. If you follow me on Twitter @kerendg and your blog is listed on your Twitter About section I will be tempted to monitor it.
  • The second is pragmatically by “crawling” the data in a certain way that is helping me to find more great resources.

I see it as if I have “dynamic Favorites” – a list of blogs that is worth to get back to. This is great way to find who is consistently getting the crowd’s attention. I know that it seems simple but I have my share of complexity dealing with multiple constrains and “interesting” data.

The patterns reported using Twitter (on daily bases)

I plot daily results to my Twitter @Blogmon account

  • Rank Change: more than 25% gain in rank since baseline and at least 7 scans (snapshots)
  • New High: more than 35% gain in rank since the first Rank Change report. The application reports the first time and then if the blog reached a new high the tool will report only every 30 day since last report.

The information reported to BlogMon results web site

The A-list blogs consists of bloggers with Technorati rank under 1000 (in other words the subset of the top 1000 bloggers that I monitor).

I publish monthly results to BlogMon Results for the A-list, and for the rest here. The rest are bloggers that moved up in rank more than 50% since the baseline (the first time I started monitoring them).

Speed: calculates as the percentage gain in rank divided by the number of days it took to make it.

Perfect records – these are the rare blogs that are moving up consistently. The conditions are at list 9 scans (snapshots) and more than 20% gain in rank. 

You got nothing to loose – The only way is up^

Joining in – if you’ de like me to monitor your blog please submit your name and blog URL in the small form on the BlogMon home page. EMAIL IS OPTIONAL!!! – I don’t need it for monitoring you blog. I do need your Blog URL. Please add it in the Comments section.

Your blog need to be claimed on Technorati.

I only report if your blog is going up. So, if you are not doing so great, now, your blog will not appear in the statistics. So, there is nothing to loose by joining in. If the blog is not going up in more than 30 days I will slow down the scans for this blog from every other day to every week. So, if your blog is making good progress you can show it off (or charge more from your sponsors). 

The tools

I’m using Weebly to build the Blogmon Results web site. It is a great service that saves me a ton of time. I use Google Docs to generate the spreadsheets. I can publish them online and then embed the table as an iFrame inside the web pages – another great time saver.

Some statistics:

  • I monitor 794 blogs. I scan 252 blogs weekly. The rest every other day.
  • Most of the blogs reside between 1-100,000 rank
  • In August I had 70 blogs that were making good progress (more than 50% than the baseline rank).
  • in August I had 22 blogs on the A-List

Any ideas how to make it more useful and interesting?

  1. October 27, 2008 at 3:10 pm
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment